Project Stages

Stock Exchange

Register to access content

If you already have an account please log in.

By registering my information with the Beacon Events I recognise that I may receive information and updates around other related mining and mining investment events managed by Beacon Events.

The content you are trying to access is for registered users only

Click here to register your account.

NOTE: You will need to register with the same email address that you used when registering for the event to receive access.

Already have an account? Click here to log in.

The content you are trying to access is for authorised users only

NOTE: You will need to have registered with the same email address that you used when registering for the event to receive access.

Please use a different account to access this content.

The Most Prestigious Mining Awards in Europe Announces Shortlist

  • 14 November 2022

Following a record number of nominations, Resourcing Tomorrow is excited to announce the short-listed nominees for the Mines and Money Outstanding Achievement Awards to be held on December 1st 2022, in London.

This is the first time since 2019 that the glittering Gala Dinner for this prestigious awards ceremony will be held in person following the sudden arrival and prolonged shutdowns caused by the Covid pandemic.

The organisers are delighted to also have Rio Tinto's CEO, Jakob Stausholm speak at the Awards this year - it's clear that this event is shaping up to be the best one yet.

This year's Resourcing Tomorrow, brought to you by Mines and Money Programme and the award nominees, is ultimately a reflection of the complex and hard work of individuals and companies, all to ensure that vital minerals are supplied, making fundamental changes to the world. Now, that's worth celebrating. said Andrew Thake, Divisional Director

“2022 has been a real comeback year for this prestigious mining industry award event. We have had more nominations than ever and have people signing up to attend in large numbers, and we’re looking to be entirely sold out soon. I can’t wait to celebrate the mining industry’s achievements together, and it seems the industry can’t either!” said Anita Richards, Chief Operating Officer

Among the award categories are those that aim to recognise companies that continue the search for the next generation of mines and who have made significant discoveries or have continued to progress exciting projects, in jurisdictions around the world. While this include traditional commodities such as precious and base metals, there are also a number of nominees with deposits in the battery metals category, key commodities required for the energy transition.

For the Exploration Discovery Award, Mines and Money have short-listed ACME Lithium; Great Bear Resources; AusGold; Reunion Gold; Baselode Energy; Lithium Chile; Galileo Mining and Patriot Battery Metals

The Exploration Company of the Year Award sees Fireweed Metals; Amex Exploration; I-80 Gold and Goviex Uranium; Mako Gold and Royal Road Minerals nominated for their respective exploration achievements during the past 12 months.

Awards recognizing excellence in innovation within the sector also received a lot of nomination support as mining companies seek to become more efficient and extract additional metals from existing deposits and facilities, while explorers seek new and improved ways to aid exploration.

In the Mining Innovation of the Year category shortlisted nominees include Minehub Technologies Assay Exchange; the Boart Longyear orebody science platform called TruScan™; Gravitricity’s storage solution; Canada Silver Cobalt Works Re-2Ox processing technique; Iluka’s Narngulu Mineral Separation Plant and Vinca Technologies fast-acting molten salt critical metal leaching technology.

For the Collaboration Award the shortlist nominees are - Minehub Technologies has been nominated along with BHP and Sumitomo, Minviro and Maptek; Mkango and HyProMag; Rajant Corporation, Kinetic Mesh, Australian Droid and Robot (ADR) and PBE Group; and Iluka Resources.

Mining Technology Company of the Year names were: Geomoby; Minespider; Canada Cobalt Silver; Matec Industries; Canaria Technologies; NextOre  and Hexagon 

There is no doubt that the unprecedented events of the last two years saw a number of company leaders step up into making critical and timely decisions to ensure the safety of employees and the continuity of their respective businesses. In addition, there was continued pressure from industry leaders to ensure great strides that had been made in areas such as inclusion and diversity were not lost or shelved due to the ongoing pandemic.

Nominees for the Mining CEO of the Year Award include: Chris Taylor, CEO ,Great Bear Resources; Brandon Macdonald, CEO, Fireweed Metals Corp;  Jim North, CEO, Ferrexpo; Leon Coetzer, CEO ,Jubliee Metals Group; Marc Bishop Lafleche, CEO, Anglo Pacific/Ecora Resources; and Vincent Mascolo, CEO, Atlantic Lithium.

Then of course are there those future leaders that are already blazing a trail. Nominees for The Rising Star of the Year Award, for an up and coming professional in the mining industry include: Jorge Ramiro Monroy, CEO & Founder, Reyna Silver; Tamara Leves Hamen, President, Women in Mining Chile; Marc Bishop Lafleche, CEO, Anglo Pacific Group; Louis-Pierre Gignac, the President, CEO & Director of G Mining Ventures; Francis Wedin, CEO, Vulcan and Thandi Dywili, the Chief Executive of Lilitha Minerals and Resources in South Africa.

In a similar vein there are a number of individuals who have gone largely unrecognised by the mining industry but who have, in their own quiet, below the radar way, advanced mining as an industry. Possible winners of the Unsung Hero award include:  Anand Sheth, Co-founder of International Lithium Association; Assheton Stewart Carter, founder of TDi sustainability and The Impact Facility; Carla Rojas Neculhual; Gladys Smith, Head of Engagement, International WIM Alliance of International Women in Mining (IWIM) and Professor Joe Seegers.

The Mining Industry is also known for its megadeals and no awards would be complete without an annual contender for Deal of The Year. Of course size isn’t the only factor the judges took into consideration, but also those transactions that most captured the imagination of the financial community and had strong synergistic benefits.

This year’s nominees include G Mining Ventures Corp financing package for its Tocantinzinho Gold Project; Great Bear Resources sale to Kinross Gold for C$1.8 billion; The Ontario Teacher’s Pension plan investment into Foran Mining of $200M for 20% ownership; Horizonte Minerals US$633 million project financing for its Araguaia ferronickel mine and the Matsa Mining acquisition by Sandfire.

More from this author

Join us at one of our Upcoming Events